75 Yamaha DT 250/ the battery and beyond. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Vintage Dirtbikes Discussion of all things on Vintage Dirtbikes manufactured in 1980 or earlier.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-06-2009, 11:59 PM Thread Starter

75 Yamaha DT 250/ the battery and beyond.

Hey, my name is Ty and I have been slowly restoring a 75 yamaha DT 250. Maybe restoring is the wrong word but trying to fix it up so that it starts every time and runs strong through all the gears. This is my first motorcycle and it happens to be 5 years older than I am. I am a decent mechanic when it comes to turning bolts and fixing the things that are wrong with my truck and motorcycle, but a valve job on a 4 cylinder is one of the deeper jobs I have done so my knowledge is some what limited. I appreciate any time anyone can spend giving me a heads up on the basic or more complicated aspects of this machine I am dealing with.
I own the clymer guide or book to this bike.

I was having problems starting the bike, but when I would hook it up to a battery charger it would fire up first kick after charged.( there is no electric start) So I bought a new battery which caught the wires on fire. This may have been caused by the the connections being grounded out on the motorcycle. I am not sure but I would imagine that if the connections between the battery and the motorcycle made contact with the metal frame of the bike it could result in them heating up and smoking away the insulation? I don't know if this happened it is only my best guess. After buying the new battery (and re-wrapping the wires) I was still having trouble starting it. I disconnected the battery and it started starting up on much more of a regular basis. But then the head light and blinkers stopped working. (They were working after I disconnected the battery but only when it was running).

Does the battery have any influence on starting this motorcycle that only has a kick start?