Yamaha 175's - need some tech help - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Vintage Dirtbikes Discussion of all things on Vintage Dirtbikes manufactured in 1980 or earlier.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 09:38 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Yamaha 175\'s - need some tech help

Hi there,
I'm glad to have found this site and have a tech question if anyone can help.

I have two Yamaha 175's (1978,1979) that are having a related problem. Both are DT models. They both have not been used for about a year and neither one will stay running without the choke. In addition to that, one stalls out when giving it more than a little throttle. I can run while giving it very limited throttle but any more than that it quits. Any suggestions?
I'm a novice at bike mechanics at this point.

Thanks,
Elizabeth
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-15-2003, 08:55 AM
Novice

Re: Yamaha 175\'s - need some tech help

maybe carbs need to be cleaned.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-18-2003, 08:49 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I have a 1980 MX 175 with the same problem. I even bought another carb off another bike, and it still does the same thing. I see that someone else has the same problem, there must be someone out there who has ran into the same problem?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 08-20-2003, 06:13 AM
winsted

You'll need a repair manual--you can still get them, I just got one for my '73 CT175.

Your description sounds like one doesn't idle, but will run if you keep giving it gas, right? If so, you need to adjust the 2 screws that relate to the idle. There is a standard procedure for that. It is in the repair manual--or I'll quote it if you want.

For both of them:
Of course, you replaced the spark plugs already....

Look for obstructions in the exhaust--mine was originally blocked with about a cup of water in the bend by the cylinder.