Kodiak or grizzly - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Utility/4x4 ATVs All discussions of Utility and 4x4 ATV's, quads, four-wheelers.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 03-05-2006, 02:01 AM
langfordman

Kodiak or grizzly

I am new to this whole world of Atv riding and will be purchasing my first quad soon. As far as I can tell I will be purchising a 2006 and just wanted to know a few things.
is the grizzly 660 worth paying the extra for over the kodiak 450 if you are only going to be useing it for trail rideing and camping expiditions? Thanks for any insight you can give me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 03-06-2006, 07:26 PM
miller_time_nick

Re: Kodiak or grizzly

I have a Kodiak 450 and my friend has a grizzly. We ride about the same and mine has never been to shop for repairs, while his has had to have a rear output shaft seal & front wheel bearings. Also, I can follow him anywhere he goes. The only advantage I see is the Grizzly is taller and keeps the belt vents away from water better & the bigger engine makes it faster. I would say save the money, spend it one some factory size Mud Lites and you will be able to do anything a Grizzly can and then some.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 03-07-2006, 11:02 AM
langfordman

thanks for the info miller time nick I really appreciate it.I just had two of my friends buy Grizzly,s and two buy Kodiak's so I guess I willl get to see how they both preform. Anyone have any other suggestions about wich quad to bu for a first time buyer any brand,model or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 03-10-2006, 01:39 PM

Look at the Bombardier (SkiDoo's) Outlander 400.

It is rated at 30 horse. The 450 Kodiak actually has less and is physically larger like the Grizzly, but weighs no more that the Kodiak.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 01:08 PM
langfordman