Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to using wire-fed welders and recently bought a 115V Lincoln MIG PAK 10. BTW, this is all in regards to gasless, flux-cored wire.
I bought some 1/4" plate steel to practice on and at first set the settings to what was suggested by Lincoln: Power Level "D", and Wire Speed at "2". D is the highest power setting and 2 is the slowest speed setting.
I've found that I get poor welds using this speed setting so when I've got it up to 5 or so, it is much better. At least from what I can see. The welds are much smoother and even. Just wondering what you all weld at when doing thicker steel? Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Steve

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Chris. I guess I still need to practice a bit more :) I'll give speed 3 a shot and see how it goes.

Cheers!
Steve

G

·
I also use the lincoln 100 and D2 (roughly) is my setting for 1/4in. plate.
You want to be able to stay in the area you are welding longer so as to get better penetration. The weld should flow and not be a spattering mess. The weld should "sound" nice while as you are welding. Hold the stinger about 1/4 in. to 3/8 in. from the steel. Anymore and you'll lose to much heat.
You will learn to allow a longer stinger to fine tune your heat in other applications. For 1/4 in. burn slow and hot as you can. If the weld does not go deep enough it can't hold on very well under stress. You get the idea.

·
Registered
889 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry, but the "stinger"? The wire itself right? I'm new to the lingo :)
Now that we're on the topic, how long should the wire be as it sticks out of the contact tip? I find if it's a bit longer, it's easier to weld with. Or could that be a problem???

Cheers!
Steve

G

·
are those campbell hausfeld wire feed flux core welders i see on ebay good enough to weld perch plates for a spoa kit??

G

·