Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I'm a Jeep/Dodge guy....well..i was a Dodge guy. My new ram has 55000 miles on it now, i bought it new, and its become rediculously unreliable. So its time has come and i'm not buying another Dodge. I drove the Stupid duty and Silverado and i liked the Silverado. I chose a 2001 2500HD crew cab 4x4 LS. If anyone has a similar truck...is there anything i should know of? wierd problems, annoyances, squeaks, rattles, excessively poor mileage, breakage, tire wear, etc? And, if you'd be so generous, I'd like to get an idea of how much you were able to negotiate off the window sticker price. I'm not new to new trucks, or negotiating, but i am new to the Chevys. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated! thanks in advance!!!

Give me Jeep or Give me Death!!!

(Will trade functioning organs for CJ-7 or flatfender)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I've got a 99 2wd Silverado, so not quite like what you are looking at. But, some of the things I've had/have problems with: extended cab windows- lots of wind noise
strange rattles and clanks from the front and rear
windows clunk when raising them(the bolts holding the mechanisms in the door come loose)
transmission slips on occasion when leaving from a stop
Oh yeah, the fact that the dumbass designers put a motor in a heavy truck that doesnt make any torque until 3000rpm!! 5.3l
Other than that, its comfortable, gets good milage(just got 21mpg to and from Las Vegas this past weekend), if fairly quiet even with my aftermarket exhaust and big open K&N filter.