Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now I have a 95 YJ rio grande, 2.5l. In may I plan to swap out the little 4 banger for something much bigger. I have seen a lot of guys post that building the 4 banger is better, but I want some real power. I originally was going to use a 4.0l, but when I looked into it, it would cost the same amount if not cheaper to just swap in a V8. He is my delema. This is my first engine swap, but I am getting help from my dad, but he has never put in a new fuel injected engine. I know this is a big project, but I want to do as much as i can so that I know how to fix problems my self. I have looked into the following conversions, 350 chevy engine with a NV4500 tranny, 5.9L Dodge Magnum with a NV4500 trann, or a 302 ford with a tranny that will hold the power. Since this is my first project I want to eliminate as many problems as possilbe. What is the easiest swap? I have the advance adaptors book, and it looks like the small block chevy with the NV4500 is the simplist when it comes to all the needed conversion parts. I imagine that that dodge would be an fairly straight forward swap because all the Jeep conections should just plug in. I havent looked into the Ford swap that much, but if it is worth it I will. I am open to opinions so tell me what you think. Cost is a consideration, but not a priority. I would like to stay under $5000 for a turn key swap, but that is just a goal, and with a jeep we all know that isn't going to happen. By the way I would like to use an engine that is a 95 or newer, I am in the Navy and there is no telling where I will end up regestering my jeep.
Thanks,

Kirk
95 YJ rio grande

·
Registered
6,517 Posts