Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
13,432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
OK Guys! Listen UP! I need all the help I can get here...'

CJDave, Send up a Crew of your Crack Mormon MoonGuys who'll work for root-beer! The CJ is making it's yearly Wisconsin northern migration to the Garage for a total Fiberglass Body swap. I've never worked with Fiberglass before, so if any of you have any tips or thoughts that will help let me know. I'm in uncharted waters!

This body is used and is the ugliest thing you'd ever seen with "Goatherder" stenciled in German (hey, this IS Wisconsin) along the sides, and "Permote the Goat" bumper stickers back ( See it now, under wraps at: http://vanevery.homestead.com/UpgradeIndex.html ). But I got it for cheap! In the last year since it's last new coat of yellow paint the CJ has become a fixture around town! I dare not change the colour.

Does anyone know a good way to remove paint from the body while not destroying the underlying gel-coat? It'll be painted Corvette Yellow....the CJ is a 83 "Golden Eagle" that will be a "Golden MoonGuy" when I'm done. I've planned on a "Smiley Face" on the hood... so I'll need a vote from y'all:

When Finished with the body swap:

1. Do I Paint the Traditional "Smiley Face" on the Hood? /wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif

or

2. Do I paint the Jeep "Bearded Smiley Face" on the Hood?

Vote now, Vote Often, and we'll see if I bend to the will of the Jeepers!

Good Jeepin'

Larry

G

·
I like the bearded guy, But...
I saw your website & the work that you put into it rebuilding the rear of the tub, Im a little surprised you are abandoning it?!?
I realize Wisconsin is tough, but has your tub rusted out again already, or is it not holding up as well as you'd like?
Or is just a "can't pass up the opportunity for a cheap fiberglass tub" situation.

'78 CJ7 304, rust, inspected!/wwwthreads_images/icons/crazy.gif

·
Registered
7,409 Posts