Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 84 k-cab 4x4 and i was contimplating a major revamp of the complete drive train. Here are the idea`s that i have:
302 ford or 350 small block chevy w/transmission and transfer case to match.
1 ton axles shortened front and rear to match stock width of the nissan.
leaf springs up front vise the ifs.
i like the maneuverability of the small truck but crave the power and durability of the big truck, but I do not want to sacrafice the maneuverability of the small truck. if anyone has input regarding the ins and out of such a project please reply. I know the one thing that will certainly be mentioned first is the cost of such a project. i have already eliminated that issue due to the fact that I am an ase certified auto tech and a welder by trade.
any input is appreciated but lets please keep it on the subject of the nissan chevy/ford conversion.
inissant

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
by swapping the front suspension to leaf spring you will avoid the problem of too much weight for the IFS, you will however have to
at bracing the frame to avoid stress fractures from the extra weight and power of the V8. You should alos be able to fit a V8 into the
engine compartement but I would recomend using a ford product if you have a choice for one reason, distributor is on the front and
will not interfere with the firewall in a tight compartement. True you might be able to put a chevy in but I wouldn`t want to work on it for
maintenance. Also with a V8 you probably will not have the room to have a mechanical fan, you will probably have to use an electric
fan, most likely a pusher model. As to the rest of the driveline the tranny and transfer cse might be too big for the tunnel but a simple
body lift would fix that. As for the axles, once they are narrowed and the proper mounts are configured it will be a matter of bolting them
in.