Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having SERIOUS transmission problems, basically it's time for a new transmission. But I'm a little lost on a few things. One is what the heck is the difference between a "Transmission, a tranny, and a t-case" are they are the same thing?

Next, I own an '85 CJ7, what model of transmission should I be looking for? Or is it just a matter of what kind of performance I want? Honestly, most of my driving is street driving, so I don't offroad much but I'd like to be able to handle it when I do go offroading. Thanks for any help

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Again, I am not an expert, but I can tell you this: my 85 CJ7 has a T176 transmission and a Dana 300 transfer case. Basically, the way I understand it it is that the transfer case is an adapter that provides "turning" of the front wheels (when in 4 wheel drive). Without the transfer case only the rear tires would turn.

With respect to the "tranny" I guees people consider it the combination of all units (transmission, transfer case, drive shafts, etc).

Again, I don't know much about this stuff as you can see....I hope this helps.

I've read that the T5 transmission is a good alternative.
Good luck.

[email protected]

·
Registered
1,736 Posts
As I learned it....

A tranny and a transmission are the same thing. The transfer case, or the t-case, it the unit that splits the power off to the front wheels. It resided behind the transmission, between the transmission and the driveshafts, and the 2 driveshafts, front and rear, connect to it. The drivetrain, or "train", is often said when referring to the engine, tranny, t-case, driveshafts, axles... the whole group..

Time to climb under that CJ and look around. If you look at it long enough, you'll see what part is what.

Good luck
Pete

88YJ,4"susp,33"BFGMTs,9000#winch, hm swing out TC/HL mount ,258,999,4.10,weber32/36,GMHEI.

·
Registered
6,355 Posts