Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 87 YJ with the 4.2/BA-15 Peugot NP231 setup. It sucks, I hate it and I want it out...well the tranny T-case setup that is. I just put a weber 32/36 carb on and I know its only a matter of time before I blow my tranny or tcase out. So my question is this; What is a fairly easy/affordable upgrade for a tranny and tcase? I'm a college student so my means are fairly limited. I don't have a lot of money to spend on Adapters and other parts. Would a T176 bolt up? I know of a T18 dana 20 combo for sale but a friend of mine told me I'd have to swap axles becuase the shaft outputs are on opposites sides than the stock setup. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

MudFlap 87 YJ POS!!

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
That's the real problem with upgrading the NP231, the driver side front driveshaft. It would be nice to slap a dana 300 in there and get a tranny to join it and the engine but then you're looking at a front axle swap to accomodate the passenger side shaft. I didn't care for my stock 5 speed as well, but it also has a tired 4cyl in front of it so I went with the chevy/TH350 swap, cost some $$ to do it though, but I don't regret it at all!

/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif Big Ed
'88 YJ, 4" susp,3" body,33's,283 Chevy V8,TH350,4.11's,D30,D35c

·
Registered
7,958 Posts
Try a T-18 out of a Ford with a transfer, they have the axles on the wrong side. Oops, I meant "other" side. /wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif

JEEPN
'81 CJ-8 Scrambled!
GM151/SM465/NP205 twinstick/7"Lift/33"TSL's/IHC D44's 4.10's Lock'd

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·