Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Suggestions for \'90 Jeep Cherokee

Hi all,
I am an extreme newbie to the world of 4x4 and to Jeeps in general. I hope you can help me with some general questions about "Jeeping".

I just acquired a 4WD/4Door 1990 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer from my sister who never used the Jeep for anything other than "going to the mall". She was looking to get another vehicle and decided to "pass it down" to me (I already had an F150). Well, it never occured to me how great of an offroad vehicle this was...and after seeing some pictures here on this Website, I was sold! Now, I am just a newbie and do not do much offroading (offroading to me is navigating around potholes). But, I am willing to learn.

I live in South Texas where the land is flat as a pancake (or, I should say "Tortilla"). The only obstacles we have here are brush and sand...we have a kick ass 30-mile long island of sand off the Texas coast called South Padre Island which actually goes on some hundreds of miles. I believe it's the longest Island in the world.

Aside from getting the Jeep checked out and analyzed over and under, what are some of the basic upgrades I need to make the Jeep a true off-road vehicle? I'm not talking about BIGFOOT here, just something that is easy on the street, yet a killer in the sand.

Can I get by for now with an $800 budget?

1.)I would like some BFG 31x10.5 All Terrain Tires, but it looks like a lift is going to be needed. Correct? Can I get by with 30x10.5?

2.)Is a lift an ABSOLUTE MUST or is it mainly for rock climbing?

3.)What kind of shocks do I need?

Any other BASIC essentials that I need at this point?

Thanks for any enlightenment on this. I look forward to corresponding with ya'll.

· Registered
517 Posts
Re: Suggestions for \'90 Jeep Cherokee

Hello and welcome

The only mods you need to make your Jeep a true off road vehicle are -
tow points front & rear
hi-lift jack
tow strap(s)
emergency tools