Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, well, I'm new here (relatively), so here goes. I'm not having much luck getting this question answered on the mailing list. Anyway, an intro. I'm 24, male, and I live in Tampa, Florida. I've been carpooling to work with my girlfriend for about 5 months, we both work downtown. Recently my office decided to move, so out of necessity I'd need a car. Well, not really, I own a 95 Ford Taurus, but I told her she could drive it. I was faced with a choice, buy a fix-er-upper or lay the same money down on a new car. A buddy had a 1974 Jeep CJ-5 that wasn't in the best of conditions, but he said he'd sell it for $750.00 bux and help me with repairs. What the hell. I bought it, only saw it once and never heard it run. But he's a good friend, I trusted him. I bought it cash. Picked it (had it towed), and the vehicle started on the first try afer 8 months of storage in the open. Took her home, cleaned out the 1 and a half inches of old leaves and dirt and started assessing the situation. Clearly there was much work to be done. However, the lack of a car payment means that I can spend that money on this Jeep. No problem. That was in November. Since then I have replaced the gas tank, redone all the brakes and brake lines, ground out all the rust and temporarily put some real good rust resistance paint on till I get a new tub. I've rewired the engine from front to back with a Centech Harness (a subject for another post, Awesome harness) and put a new besttop seat in the jeep. On Sunday, the Jeep will become my daily driver to and from work and where ever else I need to go. The truck is mechanically sound, just needs aesthetics from here on out. During my repairs I've run into 2 problems.