Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I wanna upgrade my 96 bronco and being a newbie, I've read some stuff, sniffed around the bulletin boards, and have developed a mod plan, based upon a few assumptions:

Assumption 1: I will use the Bronco for street work 70% (light commuting), off-roading 25%(no radical crawling or high speed stuff), and posing 5%

Assumption 2: If I sell my 91 Nissan 240SX, I will have a budget of approx $3,500 (minus bribes to the squaw - ie jewelry, etc.)

Assumption 3: I should try to get some use out of the new 29.5 inch tires the old owner installed just before I bought the Bronco.

1. Audio upgrade (complete)
2. CB radio and antenna
3. Interior safety eqpt

4. cold air intake and cat-back exhaust
5. Chip tune/upgrade

6. Rear manual locker (Leaning towards ARB)
7. R&R Auto hubs with manual hubs
8. 4" suspension lift (Not sure which)
9. New tires - I think I can go with 33's

If anyone has other suggestions or ideas on how to improve this plan I would appreciate the advice...thx, Tom

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
Four half inch nuts will allow you to clear the Firestone Wilderness AT III on stock rims with NO LIFT.

Use the autos until they blow. Others will say differently but unless you are getting into some serious stuff and have no help then I would wait for then to go.

You can nickle and dime the performance stuff like cat backs, chips, msd, etc but what do you want? real power only comes one way that is a big motor. MSD and a K&N filter replacement NOT THE FIPK (POS).

ARB they are cool but for limited offroading..... get good tires.

I am not trying to shoot you down but just bring reality into this. I drive my truck on the road 95% of the time. I want an ARB and a big lift but you need to start small. Go with the bumper mod and the 33s. When that gets old then think about the your game plan and upgrade something else like the ARB or Lift kit.

JMTCW

·
Registered
5,301 Posts