Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im a newbie to fixing up my jeep. had my yj for 5 yrs, and only started to build it up. the front is sagging real low and the back is real high(front tire is 2" from touching the flares, and back is 5" from the flare).

I know that the bullbar is the cause of this(that suckers heavy, took me and my brother to lift it up and put it on), and i will be getting a winch soon. I still have the stock springs and noticed that the front springs have 4, while the rear has 5. why does the fron have one less spring? i would think that the front would need more since their is more weight due to the engine? well I was thinking about getting the HD 6 leaf springs from JC whitney for the front, but they are listed as rear springs, will those fit? and is 6 too much, will 5 be enough? keep in mind that im getting a xd9000 warn soon.

thanks in advance for any advice and help. :)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
the rears are usually longer than the fronts so they will probably not fit, if you contact a suspension manufacturer they will most likly be able to line you up with a heavy duty spring designed to carry the extra weight on the front. or you could go with an add-a-leaf setup.

·
Registered
6,394 Posts
Dano, how about just adding leaves to the existing springs. Cheaper, and that way you can customize them to fit your particular job.

CJDave

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you g add a leaf make sure you get full length leaves, not the short thick ones. I've had experience with the main spring bending
right in front of one of the short add a leaves.

Brad (from the 4 Wheeling center of the universe, 4 corners USA)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·