Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I fumble around in Excel on a daily basis. I can do a lot of the simpler functions, but I'm totally self-taught. I know enough to get around in it, and do what I want to do. But now, I want to create a macro that will do some compiling for me.

I'm not really interested in learning Visual Basic programming. At least not yet.

I was just curious if there is anybody on this board that might know Excel well enough to help me out.

Any volunteers?

Or how about a bbs that might be helpful?

·
Registered
13,432 Posts
Re: OT - Are there any Microsoft Excel experts aro

How about a better example of what you're trying to get into a Macro?

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

I work for a store fixture manufacturer. We have an Excel spreadsheet that is used as our cutbill.

All our parts are cut from sheet stock (plywood, particleboard, laminate). All these sheet stock items items have their own part numbers in our database.

All the hardware items have their own part numbers.

Let say you have a cabinet. Each line item (door, side panel, top, back, shelf) has a size to be cut out of a certain sheet good. Some times it's all the same material, most times it different (thicknesses or sheet size). Each line is set up to figure percentage of sheet goods used(sheet size / cut size).

The hardware is simply compiled, pull qty, hinge qty, shelf pin qty... etc.

After this cut bill is completed. We have to compile "like" stock items to come up with a total BOM (bill of material).

I'm wanting to create a macro to work it's down a column (item numbers from the database) totalling each of the sheet good numbers and hardware items into a list.

G

·