Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
946 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been offered an opportunity for a new position in my company. I've been doing the job part time for about 8 years now in addition to my regular job. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif However the scope of the new job is tremendous. It's exciting and scary at the same time.

Basically it went from being the guy who was told to do this to the guy who is responsible for everything. You know, the guy you always complain about him not knowing his butt from a hole in the ground.

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Re: O/T Have you ever accepeted way over your head

Yep, several times. I'm leaving Denver in a couple of weeks to run a big construction job in New Haven, WV for the Engineering Co that designed the project

·
Registered
11,504 Posts

There were several times I took a job that I wasn't really ready for. I guess I'm too stupid to have worried about it much; I just jumped in and made it go.

Since opening my own shop I've taken in MANY jobs that closer inspection made me think that perhaps I'd bitten off too much to chew. But I just keep plugging away until it's done. My big advantage is that if something goes wrong it doesn't waste employee's time; just my own.

The best part of is that it's great experience. Once you know how to do a job there isn't much more to learn. It's the new ones that expand your mind.

·
Registered
10,815 Posts

If you wait till you're "ready" you'll never do it!

Go for it John - you never know what you can do till you do it!

Someone knows you can do it - else you wouldn't get the opportunity.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
556 Posts
Try the new job, you will suceed !!... When some one up the ladder offers you a promotion it is never a gift, it is based on the knowledge that you can accomplish what is being offered.