Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13,432 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you haven't read this before, it is worthy of the read, if you have, it's worth rereading:

·
Registered
3,833 Posts
copy-paste-saved.

Good Read! thanks Larry

·
Registered
10,815 Posts
It's really sad how things have changed.
I graduated from HS in 1965. During my junior and senior years I was president of the school gun club! We brought guns to school to show them off at the club meetings. We'd bring them to the supervising teacher who'd lock them in a closet - not to prevent mayhem, but to prevent them from walking off! There were a few kids that might do something like that, but most wouldn't.
We had outing to the gun range too - all officially sponsored by the high school.

Now, even mention a gun on the campus and you get arrested!

I didn't lock my car or even close my windows - even parking in the school parking lot or anywhere else.
Alarm? What's that? Why?

My wife is a HS teacher now - they have a resident cop at all times - with an office on the campus! At my HS in 65, the only time we saw a cop was when he was a guest speaker - and he was greeted with open arms.

Strange double standards too - if a teacher doesn't wear a bra, she gets in trouble or fired - even if it can't be noticed under layers of clothing. Female teachers have to wear big ugly one piece bathing suits with a skirt if they use the pool.
But when braless student girls wear their pants so low they have to shave there - it's OK.
When they find drugs on a student, they confiscate them but without any penalty!

What's caused the difference? Why are drugs so commonplace? Why is crime, gangs, violence, theft, and drug addiction so accepted as "normal" now?

Is it? ---
If you were a country that had it's eyes on a decent one, a wealthy one, wouldn't you start by undermining it's youth?
Youth grows up - us old folks die off. Looks like it's working!