Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cant get my 84 CJ7 I6 to start. I am new to this whole process so I have some general questions. First what I think I know. If this is wrong please correct me.

Battery- The electrical power supply for everything in the vehicle

Alternator- Simply is turned from a belt coming from the motor and is used to charge the battery

Starter - gets juice from the battery and turns the motor

Now for the parts I dont know

Solenoid - No clue

Coil - No clue

Distributor- I think but not sure that when the engine turns it turns and then it gets power from the battery and sends a voltage to the appropriate spark plug which in turn fires.

Because my jeep is a later model it has what the Haynes book calls an electronic ignition module. What does this do? It does not say. It just tells you how to install/replace it.

My Jeep will not start and I know that the starter is turning the motor. So therefore it can not be the starter or battery. So I assume it must be the coil, distributor or possible the solenoid?

Thanks for all the explanations.

·
Registered
6,355 Posts