Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So reading richocet's post about reading the manual reminded me of what I had to do this weekend as well. I did my fourth AMC 304 oil pump rebuild and it still remains one of the most disgusting repairs I have ever undertaken.

When I first decided to rebuild my oil pump, I asked the shop teacher (I never took shop-go figure) how to prime the pump as it couldn't be loaded ahead of time with oil. His answer? Vasoline! 4 oz to be exact. Now I'm not a proud man, and I'm quite comfortable with working with new techniques, but shoving that Sh!T into the underside of an engine has become for me my least favorite and most disgusting repair.

Sooo, what are your favs?

Fritz

Jeep...need I say more?

G

·
I hate having to break into anything that gets that gear oil on my hands. That stuff stinks for days. Your Vaseline reminds me of the first NP203 I rebuilt. I put everysingle one of those two hundred and some needle bearings onto that shaft with vaseline. It was in the summer, and I had to wait until late in the evening to do it, so the bearings didn't just fall off of the shaft. At least my hands weren't chapped for the next couple of days.

Cage Up, Wheels Down
Jeepfiend
All my Jeeps are in pieces!

G

·