Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with the Lock-rite performace locker. I am planning on installing one in my 79 cj 7 rear (amc 20 /mosier shafts). Has anyone had one break, or had any other bad experiences. Please let me know before I make a purchase i would regret. Thanks in advance.

Jesse

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
A local 4X4 driveline shop, M.I.T. in El Cajon, Ca. now refuses to install lockrites in any rear diff. He got tired of replacing all the
broken ones. They do work just fine up front.

Gary

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've been running one front and rear with no problems for 2 years now. Rich Imholt of Bad Bee fame(Canary
yellow 3B) has been running one for around 5 years now without breakage. If you are running 35" or larger tires
or have a severe lead foot go with detroit. I run 33" Swamper radials with lots of torque and have been happy.
Nickmil.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here's another thumbs up. I ran one in the rear of my '95 YJ for two years with no problems. It was unstopable! The only distasteful moment was during a rain storm when I had to slam on the brakes: one wheel wanted to skid, and the other wanted to grab. It sounded as if the the whole rear end fell off, but there were no problems other than a loud BANG!

Hewgag

Right Wrongs Nobody

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I rode in a CJ that had one in the rear and the guy knew how to drive with it. We went around town and I honestly never heard the locker. However, I had one installed in my 93 Z71 and the mechanic failed to replace the thrush washers. It was extremely loud!!!!! It shook the entire truck and It finially broke. However, powertrax still gave me my money back. I bought a posi after that. If I had to do it over again, I'd go with the ARB or the detroit.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts