Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I AM LOOKING INTO A 2" SPRING LIFT, I ALSO REALIZED THAT THE RUBBER BODY MOUNTS I HAVE ARE SHOT!!!!!! I WAS THINKING OF ADDING DAYSTARS 1" BODY MOUNTS. WHAT ELSE DO I NEED TO DO? REPLACE, ADD? CAN I DO THIS MYSELF, I'M AN AVERAGE BACKYARD MECHANIC. SUGGESTIONS FOR DIFFERENT WAYS TO LIFT WOULD BE GREAT, I'M FNG TO ALL THIS BUT VERY INTERESTED IN MAKING MY 8 AND UNFORGETTABLE ONE! THANKS.

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
Yes, you can do it yourself...best if you have air tools. Most of your 'install' time will be spent removing the old suspension. Here's a few tips:
1) Buy new shackles...I prefer greasables
2) Examine your shackle hangers and replace if they don't look so hot
3) Buy quality shocks...most of what's packaged in the typical kits is marginal at best.
4) Don't tighten the shackle bolts until the Jeep is back on the ground and don't over-tighten them.
5) Start spraying everything about a week in advance with P'Blaster or a similar good penetrant...WD-40 need not apply, it's about as useful as bong water.
6) Use anti-sieze when you assemble the new suspension.
7) Double check that you tightened everything before you take it for a test drive.
8) Get it aligned afterwards.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·