Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice when it comes to off-roading and mechanic...I have always loved the wrangler and recently purchased a Y2K TJ. Now I am going to put some 31' tires on it...that is if they will fit. Can anyone tell me the max dimensions for a TJ w/o a lift?

·
Registered
2,076 Posts
I'm interested too .......my '99 has 30x9.50r15s on it .........actually 28.5" .......that is supposed to be the biggest that can be put on it ......that is, without the occasional rub ......
BTW-does anyone know why they call a 28.5" tire a 30? ........and does that lead me to believe that a 33" isn't really a 33"?.......
GeeAea

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Generally the largest tyre on a stock TJ is 31x10.... But the REAL size tends to vary between manufacturer. Swampers are probably the costest to providing the true quoted size.
Cheers
Wooders.

Cheers
Wooders

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Even Swampers are all out of whack. I've been a tech inspector at mud races for many years & we (up until VERY recently) measured tires to determine classes. First off, measurement is made in a horizontal plane (across the tire, not up & down) to get a better pic of true diameter. Those 28.5" 30's would measure taller if not on your vehicle or if measured across. But, they'd still be less than 30".

As to Swampers, 33's really ARE taller than 33". In fact if both are mounted on 8" rims, 33" Swampers are taller than 34" Swampers (but only marginally so). Plus or minus a few fractions, 33 & 34" TSL's are really about 33.5"

35" Swampers are more like 34" or just a fuzz above.
Q78's - 35"
36's - 35.5"
38's - 36" if 15" rims or 36.5" if 16.5's.
38.5's - almost 38"
39.5's - 38.5"
42's - 41"
44's - 43"