Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About a year ago a friend of mine gave me a 1979 Chevy Suburban 4x4.It sat in his yard for 4 years and started every 6 months or so. It was an Ex-Kentucky Forestry Vehicle....all stock with 350/th350, np203 tranfer case, 31x10.50 tires on stock rims and primered in 3 different colors. The next week I painted it USArmy OD Green and that is all I have done to it so far. I'm new to the 4x4 scene and this forum has been the best source for the information I have been looking for. I am posting the before and after pics of the "Suburbanator". Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Re: Can anyone give me some suggestions on what to do?

Jack it up 12" then stuff some 44's under it with d60 front and 14bolt rear then get a 502zz crate motor then you can give it to me :):)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Sounds good but I really would like to keep it....lol.
I am thinking of a lift and some bigger tires but I don't know where to start. I have looked at a few rides on the net and really like the lifts and big tires. I don't do any offroading....yet, but it will somewhat used as a tow vehicle. I need to know what brand/type of lift and a good tire/rim size to go with, to get me started. Any HELP is welcome. Tough Luck SlyDog, lol

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

I have two Subs! If you plan on using your sub as a tow rig, I would not lift very much or put on large tires. Large tires will reduce your power to tow unless you replace the gears in the axles. If you still want to lift stay around 4" and Skyjacker has been good for my Sub.http://www.tennessee4x4.com/rocketcity/steve_curet.htm

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·