Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I first punch the gas I get a hesitation, as if it were flooding and then it picks up. Seems to be more pominent when the engine is cold, but also does it when the engine is hot...what gives?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
you really need to give alittle more info to go on, ie carb/EFI size bla bla bla,
i'm no expert but off idle hesitations are mostly: 1) low fuel bowl levels, 2) wrong size or out of adjustment accelerator pumps, 3) idle screw mixture adjustment, 4) maybe fuel regulator pressure.
good luck

3/4tonYJ
My Jeep Page

·
Registered
1,181 Posts
Sounds like you need to advanced your timing a little more, or make sure your vac advance is working.

/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif Big Ed
'88 YJ, 4" susp,3" body,33's,283 Chevy V8,TH350,4.11's,D30,D35c

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Check all your electrical connections to. The duraspark connectors are not very good, try cleaning them. That fixed my problem
with hesitation.

·
Registered
5,140 Posts
the timing might be a little retarded, and/or the vacume advance diapraghm might not be hooked up, hooked up wrong, or simply ruptured.

what is the timing set at?
is there a puff of black smoke when it hesitates like that?

OzarkJeep
77 CJ5, in a bunch of sanded and primered pieces

·
Registered
197 Posts
I work with this guy...he wont have access to this board till monday. But let me try to answer the questions that were asked...the carb is a stock motorcraft 2150 2bbl on the amc 360 motor. I am sure the electrical connections are good. The timing is set at 8 BTDC and yes it does put out a little black smoke at hesitation, but not much. When you punch the gas it seems like it floods out, sputters and then gets going. We just rebuilt the carb, which fixed some other problems, but still has the hesitation problem. When you push the gas slowly it will go...hit a spot where it hesittates and sputters a little...then takes off! any ideas?