Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sorry if this subject has already been posted before, but I am new to the BBS and could not find a post on it through searching.

I have a 1974 CJ5 with the 304 V8. I want to upgrade to headers and dual exhaust and want to maximize performance by a short exhaust system behind the headers with minimal back pressure (at least as minimal as legal in Massachusetts - since it is pre-1985, I don't have to pass emissions tests). I have found the Hedman Headers in the Four Wheel Drive catalog and I am looking for input from anyone who is experienced on this subject. Here are my questions:
1) Are the Hedman Headers the best choice? Are there other manufacturers?
2) Is a ceramic coating worth the money (close to 3 times the price)?
3) Are header mufflers (as in the catalog) the best choice for best performance?
4) What is the better choice - in-frame or fenderwell headers?
5) For Fenderwell headers:
a) Do you need to modify the inner fender walls for them to fit?
b) Can you have fenderwell headers with header mufflers and also have nerf
bars? If so, is the exhaust below the nerf bars or above? Are there any
recommendations for side protection other than nerf bars which would
protect the body and the exhaust system if using fenderwell headers and
exhaust mufflers?
6) Can you use exhaust mufflers on in-frame headers (after glancing at my
buddies CJ7 with in-frame headers and where they would end in relation to
my transfer case, it looks like the drivers side exhaust muffler might fit
next to the transfer case, but not the passengers side.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jim

1974 CJ5 304 V8

·
Registered
360 Posts