Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know we had a similar discussion on the old board, but I thought I'd try again. There are a lot of "new" people here now who can learn from or add to the topic. I've seen some of the old "what's better" questions popping up again in the last few months, ie the 383 question.

I think a lot of these questions come from not understanding the basic relations between engine components. I know I don't fully understand it all, and I feel I'm pretty good at this.

I have some experience in engine building. Professionally I worked as a mechanic for a few years before and after my time in the Corps. I have worked in machine shops, starting as "that kid who cleans up the shop" to the point where I was helping to build high performance engines. I have also been involved in drag racing as a hobby, building my own engines. I do not claim to be an expert, but I think I have a pretty good grasp on the basics. Here is how I understand some of the more basic principles of a reciprocating piston engine as it relates to performance. If you see something that is wrong I want to know, I'm trying to start a discussion in hopes of making things more clear for everyone, including me. I don't know it all, but I'd like to.

Bore:
Assuming all else is equal (chamber pressure, stroke, rod length, etc) a larger bore results in more power. This seems pretty simple, same amount of pressure exerted over a larger surface area equals more force pushing down on the rod. Small increases in bore diameter have a big effect on surface area. For example: boring a 350 Chevy SB (4.000" bore) .030" over (4.030") yields 1.514 square inches more surface area in the engine (.1892 sq " per piston).

Stroke: