Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a degree wheel, but have never used one before, any info to share with me anyone?
I assume it bolts to the end of the cam and I will need a pointer or some such?
Will I need a dial gauge too ?
TIA
Alf.

· Registered
10,738 Posts
It all depends on what you want to accomplish.
Usually you mount the degree wheel to the crank - to index the cam properly, or re-mark timing marks.
You need to make sure to set the wheel to exact TDC, not the damper indicator - which can be off as much as 5, 6 or more.
Use a piston stop (make or buy it,) pointer (piece of wire). Rotate the engine by hand until it stops, note the reading, Turn it backwards until it stops - note reading -- 1/2 way between is exact TDC - move crank to that spot, and set the wheel to 0. Now it's usable.
Then do whatever you are trying to do.

For help on degreeing a cam, internet search Crane Cams instructions - good info. You'll need a dial indicator with magnetic base, pad of paper, paint marker, and cam card.

· Registered
114 Posts
Hey Alf

Yup you will need a dial gauge, and the wheel goes on the front of the crank.

I just found an article that describes the process quickly here:

Degreeing a cam

I did this once one a Honda, and I made the degree wheel by printing it out on my computer. I made it the same diameter as the pully so I could tape it on with double sided tape.

Got to go now, I'm buggered. We went through Thompsons Track yesterday. Got through OK, but a rear wheel bearing died as soon as we got on the main road, 150km from home! Had lots of fun trying to arrange a trailer, and ended up staying in a campground in Te Aroha at 1:00am. Towed back to Auckland this morning at 7:00, then had to go back to drop off the trailer. Got to figure out how to seal the rear bearings better now, they were near new!