Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To all you experienced Jeep Owners,
I looked at and test drove my first Jeep last night. My palms were sweaty my pulse was going crazy and I felt little boy getting a toy he'd always dreamed of. It was a 1980 CJ-7. Powered by a 304 with a 4 spd. I can hardly think rationally about it and I was up half the night thinking about it. Since I am new to Jeeps, I need to know what problem areas to look for and what the thing is worth. I'd be driving it every day. It is stock, but it originally had a 3 spd manual instead of the 4. The body is pretty good a little rust under the doors. The motor was rebuilt at 78K, and it now has 97k on it. The tranny was put in at about the same time. Axles have been replaced in front or rear, I don't remember which. The rear main seal was replaced also. He is asking 3200, I'm thinking of offering 2500. What does anyone think about this whole thing. Jeeps always seemed to impractical to make sense, but after driving it nothing else seems to compare!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
GET IT!!!! I would probably even pay 3200 for it..What trans is it? Are the axles just stock replacements? As a Jeep owner...once you buy one nothing else compares!!! Sounds like a good deal to me.

absolutjeep
http://members.tripod.com/iluvjeeps

One more thing.....check the frame for excessive rust.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I would have to agree with absolutjeep. You have already waited too long. Around here that would go for $4K easy. I would probably make sure the person who did the rebuild is reputable. Also take a look at the undercarrage to see if it has been really abused (or wrecked). CJs have rust...its that simple. As for driving enjoyment, wait till you spend a summer with no top on!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·