Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at a 69 to 71 jeepster to swap front ends with my 73 bullnose?? Is this doable and is this a fairly simple bolt-on, since I'm no mechanical genius.

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
The "hummmmm" Bullnose has something like 6" more length in the front, I think it's because of the stock bronco grill on it. I'm sure you'd feel better riding around with the better front clip on your commando.....hope you find a Jeepster clip to install soon and you'll see what I'm talkin' about. You'll have to do some mods to install it since the engine block is longer than a 225 V6 71 or earlier.

Lizard Man
70 & 71 Halfcabs

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
I am going to keep my mouth shut for all you Bullnose guys.

(HELL YEAH RIP IT OFF AND FIND A WAY)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks to all......maybe I'll just paint her up and hope she looks prettier!!!

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
When are you jeepster guys going to start switching to Commando front ends so you can fit the rest of the engine?

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
that heat must be really gettin' to ya there in texas. you have the best lookin jeep made. its an aquired taste, like beer.

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
its the "buffalo theory". kill off all the slow jeeps (jeepsters) and your left with only the best stock. (commandos)

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
It has been done, but IMO it's more trouble than it's worth. Like someone else said, if you really want to swap in a real Jeep front clip in place of the bullnose the easiest way is to get a later model CJ grill, hood, and fenders.

BTW, the reason for the bullnose was so AMC could fit their I-6 and V-8 under the hood. But did they put a bullnose on the CJ-5? Noooo...why'd they have to do it to the Jeepster? Stupid Jerk Engineers.

·
Registered
1,255 Posts