Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all from a newbie to the forum. Glad to have found such a informative place.
First of all I'd like to say that I'm new to the 4x4 scene, other that takin' a few past trucks out and slammin the mud, so please be patient with me.
I'm lookin for some info on my new/used Bronco. Basically I'm trying to determine what type of drivetrain and axels that I have. To make this easier I've provided some pictures that I thought might help and posted them on a webpage. Under each set of pics. and any numbers I could find, I've asked my questions. I would welcome any help that anyone might have to offer. Thanks in advance!
Mak
http://www.geocities.com/qualityhp/Truck/BroncoID.html

·
Registered
3,090 Posts
9 inch rearend, probably 3.55 for ratio, dana 44 IFS twin traction beam front.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Geosites didn't work for me.

But if it is 80-96 it has a Dana 44 IFS.

80-84 probally ford 9 inch rear end with 3.50 gears.
85-96 probally ford 8.8 inch rear end with 3.55 gears.

If you have a cover on the rear of the center section of the rear axle you have a 8.8 inch. Now look for a tag on one of the bolts on the rear differential. Look in the upper left corner of it. IF it has 3 08 you have 3.08 gears. If 3 55 you have 3.55 gears. If you have 3L 08 you have 3.08 gears with a limited slip differential. 3L 55, well you get the point.

You can look at the tag on the 9 inch too. The bolts are on the front of the rear end. Actually studs with nuts. And the whole front section of the differential unbolts.

·
Registered
3,090 Posts
Re: Cruddy site

ya, i got to view it real quik before that happened, and saw the 9 inch.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·