Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been researching through various old post for about two months and I'm trying to find the best shock set up for what I have now. The only measurement I took was in a parking lot sitting level. The sucko 5000 I have I hate.
Anyhow while sitting level my front measures (from center of bottom shock hole on the radius arm to where it contacts the spring tower) 14 1/2", this includes the bushing at the tower. So... I was looking for a shock that is around 10"compressed, and 18" fully extended. The rear measures 19 1/2" so I'm looking at 15" compressed and 24" fully extended. Of course I would like the most travel but with a 2" lift there aren't many options! I measured my bumpstops on front from bottom of stop to radius arm it's 2 5/8". Correct me if I'm wrong but, does that mean that I can only flex UP 2 5/8"-3". So actually if I get front shocks that are 10.5" compressed the suspension will not flex that much going UP! I want to get the most flex for my $$$ and I want to do it right the first time. Monroe site offers the most info and cheapest but good product. I've also talked to quite a few off-road Ford owners who run monroe and they are pleased with them.I do not dave dual shocks. Any suggestion or comments are welcome. BTW- adding more lift at this time is not an option

· Registered
3,982 Posts
I think removing the bumpstops will give you a little more squish. Your flex will improve dramatically with the swaybar off too. Monroes are the same as Rancho I've heard (same company) and you've allready said you don't like the 5000s. I'm not sure which brand I'll use yet personally. I'd like to get billsteins. I've heard they are great but they are spendy. I wish I knew more about this. Take Care. NORM

· Registered
910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Blistens don't have anything in my whimpy 2' lift. I'd have to go with stock or the 4"-6" lift ones