Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just replaced the timing belt in my 95 XE-V6 KC 4x4 and I am having some problems putting the belts back on(compressor, alt., and pwr. steering). Anyone with experience have any tricks of the trade to help? And by the way, if anyone out there is thinking about changing their timing belt themselves and saving about $300. DO IT. It isn't that bad if you have the time. The worst part was getting the crankshaft pulley off. After I borrowed an impact wrench even that was easy. Occasionally you need an extra pair of hands when you put the new belt on, but unless mine crashes upon ignition it has been relatively painless. Although I have an engineering degree, I am far from an experienced mechanic. This was my first serious venture into the engine compartment. Any info. would be appreciated.

sb

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Scott,
I replaced the belt on my 87 300z this spring and will do the same for my 874x4. Did you use Nissan parts?
I used jobber parts for everything but the belt tensioner. Can you get that aftermarket as well its $88 canadian at nissan.
Your right its not to bad a of a job. and you save lots of $$$$$$$$$$. Vince.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·