Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I did some research about how relays work and asked a friend about how my headlights' wires work/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif. From what he said and my reasearch (very little) I have come up with a diagram of how I might do the wiring for my Aux. Bumper lights, 100W each. I am trying to wire my Auxiliary lights into my brights so they come on when when the brights do/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif. I'm no electrician/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif, so I hope the attached diagram is understandable/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif. I just need to know if I have the right idea or wether to give up now before I do my Jeep any harm.

Thanks,

Robert87yj/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif
engine rebuild w/ MPI and 4.0 head underway

Attachments

·
Registered
789 Posts
Don't think your wiring will work. It will power all the lites. What you need to do is take the input to the driving lite relay from the output of the bright relay. Then run the output of the driving relay to the driving lites. That way the driving lites wont have power untill the brights are on. The relay should have atleast 4 wires. 2(1pos,1neg) for switch or primary power. These should go to the battery and ground. 2(1in,1out) for switched or secondary power. These are the ones that will send power to the lites. The "out" goes to the driving lites and the "in" to the output of the bright relay. The easest place to get this power is at the rear of the headlites. If you can find the output side of the relay that works too. I don't have a scanner or I'd send you a diagram. Good luck.

C-Ya.....................kh

·
Registered
7,901 Posts