Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3,425 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I see that the old debate on shackle length has come up again. Earlier this year I posted a rather long post to the old Toyota4x4 board. Below I have tried to recreate much of this post from memory (With some added) to try to clear some things up. If you disagree with any of this, let us all know. This is just my 'pinion and I am writing this on the fly. The education mentioned may be yours, and it may be mine, but we all benefit... Enjoy!

There are quite a few factors that come into play when considering shackle design for vehicles. I will run down a few here and how I feel they apply. I am not an engineer, but most of this is just commin sense I picked up on after thinking about it. Like I said, let me know what you think
BTW, this is not a vehicle specific description, so it is up to you to figure out where this fits your application.

1. To start off, shackles are obviously deisigned a to be a part of a complete suspenion package, and to work the most efficiently with that stock suspension system.
2. Obviously, changing the suspension in any way from stock will in some way (either large or miniscule) have an effect on how that suspeonsion works.

You will hear lots of peronal opinions on longer (lift) shackles used on vehicles, especially Jeeps, most of which I take with a grain... no, a bag of salt. If you sit down & think about this, you can form some opinions of your own.

First off, I think shackles made to a different length than stock have their place. They can be an excellent tool for fine tuning a custom suspension to get the best ride and travel characteristics. Those who discount longer than stock shackles for all applications are just plain ignoring the full picture.