Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a little question here: I am currenty searching for a Ford 9-inch to swap in under my 89 Jeep wrangler. I have found these very hard to find...especially from under an early Bronco, which is just about the right width for my application. I am wondering how much weaker an 8.8 is compared to a 9. Could it stand up to a built 350? I have another question: My current bolt pattern is 5 on 4.5. I know 9 inches have a 5 on 5.5 bolt pattern, so I'm thinking about custom axleshafts and drums. would that be really expensive? I'm a student, so I'm working on a budget here....the cheaper the better. Any other Ideas?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
8.8 is suppose to be stronger then a dana 44 so it should hold up to 350. check out the specs on a ford explorer axle. I think it is an 8.8 and is slightly wider than a jeep and has i think the same bolt pattern.

Tim Springer
1980 CJ7

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the explorer 8.8 also has disc brakes and will make an easy swap. they are a little thin tubed (although it is over 3in in diameter). they are plenty strong as they were used in 1/2 ton trucks since 85.

dan

/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.giflet it snow/wwwthreads_images/icons/smile.gif

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
8.8 is that also in the ford rangers?? I know this would be a disadvantage to the explorer because it has drum brakes but the ranger could possibly be a dime a dozen?
84cj7

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·