Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about putting a 454 in the project CJ7 that I am working on. Has anyone done it? If so what are some tips you can give me?
I know it is a tight fit, but I have heard of it being done before. I have some AA bolt in chevy V-8 mounts, anyone know if they will work
with the big block or just the small block?
Dan

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Currie did it on the one that has the multicolored "bubblegum" paint job over white. There was a write up in a mag about it a few years back.
I think the SB mounts should work. Finding a radiator to keep it cool may be another story.

Jason '87YJ
(350/NP435/D300twinstick/SOA/GM14-FF-Detroit/D44/M8274)

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am fairly new to jeeping and not sure what my friend has but I do know that he has a 454 in his jeep. I think it is a cj7. He had a 93 wrangler but sold it to buy this jeep and I think I heard him say it is a 7. I know it can be done but I dont know what you need. Sorry, but I wnated to tell you it can be done.

Cut to shape, hammer to fit, paint to match /wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif
Project '51 willy's total rebuild /wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not worth the effort in my eyes, unless you're building a full-on competition mud bogger - and even then, I'd go with a mini-truck for better wheelbase. You can get gobs of power from a small-block. That's what I'd do.

TEX

/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif Got Mud?
G.U.M.B.O. Mud Racing

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I dont want this to sound the wrong way but why the heck would anyone need a 454 big block in a small CJ-7? can someone please explain this to me? Is this a show truck? bogger?

Just My .02

Kevin Speicher
New England 4x4 Club
http://146.189.121.83/
79 Jeep CJ-7

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·