Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is the timing supposed to be set with the Jeep in "Park" or "Drive"? (with the brake set!) I read that timing is more accurate set in gear for an auto. True??
TIA

'86 CJ-7, 360, TFI, 727, OEM Dana 44 rear w/Truetrac, Dana 30 w/Powertrax No-Slip, 4" Superlift, 4:11s, Warn HS9500i

·
Registered
13,432 Posts
Your asking some good questions. I just hope TR doesn't fall of his chair laughing at my explination... He's a pro... me, I'm a backyard mechanic... so here goes...

Timing is a combination of two things:

1. A Starting point (static), and...
2. A Moving Point (dynamic).

So, let's reason together on this one...

First, anything is only as good as it's foundation. In timing an engine, that's the Static Timing. It is this point from which all other things flow on a non computer controlled engine. Click on the Timing gun below and see how to time an engine to the nats eyebrow.

If you notice, you're timing the engine with the engine OFF. This ensures that the foundation is good.

So now start the engine and you should be running just fine...unless you've tweeked and played a bit trying to mask a problem. This is because the engine is a slave. All it does is make that crankshaft go round and round. Same ol' after same ol stuff revolution after revolution.

So what can go wrong? Yep, it's that Moving Point thing... you've got to nail jello to the wall!

Well using your example, by putting the engine in Park or Drive you're placing a load on the engine, or you're removing it. The manifold vacuum is being used to monitor the engine load. As the load increses the manifold vacuum increases unless more gas is given, raising the RPM thus decreasing the manifold vacuum.

So, as you can see, in park or in drive it don't make a bit of difference. Vacuum is Vacuum. What you're concerned with is how the enigne reacts to the load. This reaction is a combination of two items:

1. Base RPM.