Off Roading Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
769 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to answer an email I received today about the differences between what he calls a 24vdc alternator and a 12vdc alternator.
Alternators generate AC current until rectified to DC.
I am by no means an expert on this stuff but to me a 24v alternator and a 12v alternator should be the same if you eliminate any voltage regulation and the rectifier correct?
My experience with 24vdc equipment is limited.

The windings, rectifier, rotor, and brushes should be sized for current not voltage correct?
Or is there a relationship between voltage and current that determines winding size etc.?
My unregulated alternator will put out voltages ranging from 1-150vdc depending on the engine rpm.

If the alternator rpm or voltage is low and you strike an arc, the current load on the alternator will be extremely high but if you spin the alternator faster and increase voltage, the amp load on the alternator will be lower correct?
It should be the same as lowering the voltage on an electric motor. Lower the voltage motor and current goes high, increase voltage and the current drops.

A rheostat would control voltage not current if it were wired in the exciter circuit. It would work but to obtain the proper voltage to weld with, the engine still has to be up around 2000 rpm, of course that depends on your alternator speed.
Unless you are burning very small rod however, lower engine rpms or lower voltages are not very useful.
How close am I?
I am not an electrician so give me a break on the terminology.

Trailhed.com

·
Registered
6,870 Posts
Is this an on the level question?
And do you want me to answer it?

So many cats, so few recipes...

·
Official Historian
8,339 Posts