Dielectric Grease ?? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-24-2001, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Keyboard Implanted

Dielectric Grease ??

Can someone explain how dielectric grease works? If it is non conductive and it gets on contact points, I would think that the circuit would remain open. What's the skinny on it? Thanks....

All Good Medicine,
Crow

Creator, everything we do leaves a track. May our tracks be ones we would want you to see and others to follow......

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-24-2001, 10:52 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Dielectric Grease ??

Now I am no expert here, but I have tried this thing out too. I believe, the idea is to get a postive contact, then grease around that to prevent any shorting or air getting to the contacts. However, there is a problem. I used this on some mercury switches that controlled the inertia reals on my 4 point harnesses. The theory......since the switches were mounted near the floor just behind the seats.....smear some dielectric grease on the crimp connectors to keep any water or gunk out. This worked just fine, until some of that grease found it's way into the switches. This made them very irratic, as far as their ability to reliably pass 12v to my belts! This is needed to allow the inertia reals to move! This was most inconvenient. And the fix for my problem was 2 new mercury switches, and well cleaned connectors! So, I think if you have a REALLY Positive contact, the grease isn't bad. I think it was bad at these switches!
Hope this helps

Andy Feingold
88.5 Samurai, SPOA,Rancho springs, Rocklobster, full cage, Schroth Harness belts, EZ locker, 32x10.50 Swampers, on board air, Weber, header etc...
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-24-2001, 11:20 PM
**DONOTDELETE**