Suzuki and Rocky Road commentary - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-16-2001, 03:22 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Suzuki and Rocky Road commentary

Having been into this "sport" for a few years I am very new to Samurai's. I've mildly built a Bronco a Scout and a CJ. And have just started to work on my Samurai and after being helped out by RRO this week I'm looking forward to it. I have dealt with many retailers and and one in peticular quite often (I'm not here to bash but lets just say they sell 4wheelparts) and when I started building my Samurai,they knew and stocked almost nothing for it (some even questioned me for wanting to do it). Very frustrating.
So there I was this week, my gf and I were headed up to the Yeewintuhs(Uintas, one of Yeewtaaws(Utah's) more scenic mountain ranges,thats how they say it here) . It feels weird saying this but "As luck would have it" I blew an axle bearing out only 20 miles from Rocky Road Outfitters. I could tell they were very busy there, but the staff there was still amazingly helpful. Glen(I think that was his name) on the phone took time to tell me options of what I could try in the town I was in, I tried those and I came up with I could pay $150+ for a tow home or sleep in my car and wait for parts. I called RRO again, he said he might be able to help me. So I creeped there. Those guys there kicked-ass. They lent me tools, gave me knowledge, and the used spare parts to get me home. Lets face it, retailers are out there to make money. RRO could have charged what they wanted, but it felt like they just were happy to help, not just to make a buck. What a breathe of fresh air.
Are all Suzuki guys this way?
Reminds me of being broken-down with my VW bus back in High School, when other VW's would stop to offer help.