steering after mild lift - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-27-2001, 06:39 PM Thread Starter

steering after mild lift

After installing OME springs and 3/8 lift Trail Tough Bone Shackles, bumpsteer has not increased but, my steering has lightened up a little (not a bad thing)and some mild wander at highway speeds is occuring. Would a front end alignment correct this? The steering box is pretty tight but there maybe some slack in it. Anybody have some words of wisdom to address this or will the steering adjustment take care of it. Thanks,

-Farther
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-28-2001, 08:35 AM

Re: steering after mild lift

Donít have and answer for you, havenít been there yet. Iím getting ready to do a mild SPOA and Iíve read a lot about people having steering problems after messing with the front end. I was a front end mechanic for a few years and I have some basic thoughts.

Yes, check and adjust out as much slop as you can in the gear box.
Check the tie rod ends, ball joints, for looseness. You can do this with a LARGE pair of slip lock pliers and try to compress the ball joints. If they move more then and 1/8 inch or so, replace them.
Also, check the spring and shackle bushings, Wheel bearings, and King pin bearings for slop.
And of course, there is always the knuckle seals and felt pads.

Hope this helps. Bobcat.

<font color=red>Beat It To Fit . . </font color=red><font color=green>. . Paint It To Match</font color=green> [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-28-2001, 12:06 PM Thread Starter