Calmini 4:57 Problems - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-03-2000, 02:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Calmini 4:57 Problems

I have a little Problem. i munched the rear pinion on my 4:57and it was not really a high stress load that caused it
can anyone tell me if this is a problem with these particular gear sets. Also does anyone know what the gear lash is supposed to be for these gears.I am a mechanic and i put them myself and i do know what i am doing , thats why i am so baffled

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-03-2000, 08:09 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Calmini 4:57 Problems

I had the 5.43 Calmini gears, lasted 10 months untill the rear pinon cracked and chiped.
And I too was not in high stress wheeling when it happened. Since I bought and installed me a set of 5.12 sidekick gears and swapped in a 1.6, put em through HELL and back, and no problems yet and it's been almost 2 years of hardcore rocking. I sold on the factory gears for now.
BTW I have 1 set of good 5.43 R+P for sale $150. This one was in front

Ford guy with twin rockcrawling Samurai's [img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
[email protected]
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2000, 09:43 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thanks that made my day , i just got rid of my
5:12 and gave them to a buddy . I liked them but i drive 30 miles to work every day so they weren't pratical for my use.
And thanks for the offer of the gears but i may and up going with dana 44s and 33s or 35s it depends on how far i can push the wife..thanks for your response

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-25-2000, 02:12 AM
**DONOTDELETE**