Samurai vs. Tracker/Sidekick - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-17-2003, 09:03 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Samurai vs. Tracker/Sidekick

Ok, I am new to the 4x4 scene.

I am looking at either a Samurai or a Ford Ranger/BroncoII.

Now one thing that I am not sure about, is I see Samurai's beeing used probbably 95% of the time, compared to the Sidekick or the Tracker. Why is that?

I also see that people are taking the engine, seats, gears and such from the tracker and putting it into the Samurai.

So why not use the Tracker to begin with?

I assume it's suspension related, is the Tracker IFS? If so, could we not change that to solid axle, seems people are switching over to Solid Axle fairly easily.

What about Tranny's, if I am doing about 60% road driving, and 40% off road in trails and mud and such, should I stick with the 5 spd, at least I could get out a little more power this way too.

I want something that I can put 33" tires on and still drive it on the street while taking it to the bush on the weekends.

What do you guys suggest?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-17-2003, 09:52 AM

Re: Samurai vs. Tracker/Sidekick

33's is probably easier to get to on a Sami than a tracker at this point. This will probably change soon enough as
vendors get with the program and we run out of sami's.

Yes the tracker is IFS.

The engine swaps are to get added HP, but the tracker tranny is not generally used.

The sami is lighter and narrower than the Sami. to it's advantage.

There are more gear options at this point for the Sami.

Do some more reading and try to formulate YOUR requirements, then choose your solution. Without having
a clear understanding of what you want specifically in a 4X4, a specific recomendation would be
confusing at best.