Welders - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-08-2000, 01:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Welders

In looking into some Welders. It is a wall plug in wire feed welder for around 200 dallars most I seen weld up to 3/16 thick metal on one pass and some 1/4 inch on one pass of mild steel. I am new to welding Will this be good for welding SPOA and the frame and such.

1. will the welder be all i need?
2. What does in mean by single pass mean.
3. Also what is included with mild metal SPoa pads, Frames.
4. If i get this will i be able to weld on SPOA pads make some customer sliders.

Could you please help would like to buy one soon. In two weeks will be welding the body but would like to be able to do SPOA later on.

LOCO

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-08-2000, 04:13 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Welders

1 It could be all of the welder you will need. What model are you talking about. Welders are like 4X4 there is always a better
model to buy. Buy a name brand that you can buy parts for is best.

2. A single pass is one weld bead on one side of the metal. Thicker material can require welding on both sides and multipass welds to get full strength of base metal.

There is a limited amount of power that you can draw from a 110V 20 amp outlet.
You can draw more power from a 220 volt single phase outlet then you need 3 phase power. High amp welders cost more money. A stick welder can weld thicker material for less money. MIG welders are better for thin sheet metal and having ability to use shielding gas gives you cleaner welds, is better on sheet metal than flux core wire.

TIG welders cost more but are more versatile. also take more skill.

Buy a auto darkening welding helmet to make you a better welder faster.

Welding aluminum takes more power because it conducts heat better than steel.