Hello and Help! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-12-2003, 03:14 PM Thread Starter

Hello and Help!

Hey all - I'm new to both this forum, and to Samurai's, so this post is to introduce myself and ask for some help. Don't worry though - I'm not new to the forum concept, and I do know how the search button works! [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

I've got an 86 Samurai, with the original 1.3 in it. Its pedigree is questionable at best, so at this point its a rescue operation to bring it back to life and reliability. I was looking for a Samurai for about two years before I found this one - here in Winnipeg they are rare to begin with, snapped up by a very active off-road community, and the bodies are usually rusted down to nothing by our winters and salt.

Eventually I'd like to do a modest lift (this will be my daily driver and winter car in addition to off-roader), and would consider either a 1.6 swap or Webber Carb / Calmini header combo. In addition to the Samurai I've got a Nissan 1600 NX which is used for autocrossing and will be stored in the winters. Anyway, I'm a dedicated fan of the Samurai and am extremely happy to have one.

So - here's what I could use some advice on...

1. Crazy metallic scraping noise on deceleration. When slowing down, in gear but off the gas, there's an intermittent metallic scaping noise coming from the direction of the shifter... sound is intermittent in the sense that it sounds like one thing is bouncing off another. Sound is the same in 2 or 4wd, and is the same regardless of what gear I'm in. Opening the throttle or taking it out of gear makes it go away immediately. Seems pretty evident (to my uneducated mind) that there's something shady happening in the transmission- anyone know what?