Carb help/advice needed - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-05-2000, 10:20 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Carb help/advice needed

Vehicle = 88 Suzuki Samurai (Throttle body injected)

I am having problems with the idle up acutator. It seems very intermittent. The problem is it is entending and pushing on the throttle lever even when no load is being applied (i.e lights, heater, etc.). This results in high idle almost all of the time. Can someone tell me how to troubleshoot this.

THanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-05-2000, 11:43 AM

Re: Carb help/advice needed

I had the same problem, just disconnect the vacuum hose from the actuator. I really can't tell the difference. If you have A/C you may want to bump up your idle speed a little. I've been running mine this way for over 3 years. Did you swap a TBI engine in your Zuk?

post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-05-2000, 06:21 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

No I didn't swap the TBI. I believe that my ZUke is an 88.5 but could be wrong. What year has the Throttle Body injection. Is it the 88 or 89. The manufactuers plater on the side of the dash indicates that the vehicle was made dec. 87.

You tell me

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-05-2000, 08:35 PM

I don't think TBI started until late '89 or early '90. If your Zuk was made in Dec. '87, I would say it's an '88. Some simple ways to tell an '88 and '88.5 apart----- '88 has round dash vents, '88.5 has square dash vents, '88 sway bar mounts inside the springs, '88.5 sway bar mounts outside the springs, '88 has a 3 spoke steering wheel, '88.5 has a 4 spoke steering wheel. So what did you decide about the idle up actuator?

post #5 of (permalink) Old 04-05-2000, 09:40 PM
**DONOTDELETE**