Newbie with a problem - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-14-2002, 03:01 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Newbie with a problem

Hi guys, this is my first post. I've been a lurker for awhile. I am new to Samurais but not new to off roading. My DD is also my offroader and I am wanting to do more complicated trails but didn't dare risk my DD. By the way, its a 99 Cherokee with 3" Rustys lift, Tom Woods SYE and 31" AT's. Sooooo, anyway that led me to looking for an affordable but capable four wheeler. So last week I bought an 88 Samurai. It seemed to be running a little rich but thought that it should not be a problem. Stick a pony carb on and be done. So while looking it over and monkeying with the stock carb (what a nightmare) I find another problem that has me absolutely baffled. It seems like the engine is running a little rough, which could be the carb, but from under the intake manifold somewhere, whenever I gun it there is a plume of what appears to be exhaust smoke coming out. Now I've seen blown headgaskets before and usually they will puke oil or antifreeze or both. So I don't think this could be a blown headgasket, but what the heck could it be??? It appears to be coming from under the intake on the passenger side of the engine back towards the firewall a little bit but not on the back of the head.
Anybody have any ideas for me on what to look for or what the ???? it could be???
Thanks,
Timbo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-14-2002, 03:27 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: Newbie with a problem