help me brothers the '"difffs" are revolting - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 07:57 PM Thread Starter

help me brothers the \'\"difffs\" are revolting

I finally got the master install kits so I could install my 4.57 gears into my sammy. I also got a richmond video from randy ring&pinion which made it look pretty easy to install the gears. Then I read the book that came with the yukon install kit. Now I am completely confused about the install process. I have never worked on diffs before so this is going to be anew experience. I have most of the tools to do the install but need to find a better manual to follow. Is the factory service manual pretty good.

I also need to know the backlash and pinion depth for 4.57, my gears didn't come marked.

Thanks in advanced for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-29-2002, 08:52 PM
Pooh-Bah

Re: help me brothers the \'\"difffs\" are revolting

Your hardest task, will be correctly setting up the pinion depth, it might take a couple times to get it right. What would be a good idea, is to get another inner pinion bearing, and hone it out a little, so it will slide on and off the pinion gear, otherwise if you have to reshim, there is a good chance of ruining the pinion bearing when removing it.

Unless your given a pinion depth spec to start with, mic all the current shims on your pinion and use that as a base measurement.

Put the shims on the pinion then slide the honed bearing on, put the pinion in the carrier(no crush sleeve) put the outer bearing on, the yoke, and use the old nut(if threads are correct) and tighten it to the correct spinning inch pound spec.