Engine oil question..... - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Suzuki GEO All Discussion of all things, Suzuki and GEO

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-06-2002, 08:58 PM Thread Starter

Engine oil question.....

I was just wondering what weight oil most people run in there 1.3? I have been running 5W-30 in mine for the last 4 years.I live in southern Tennessee and the temps in the summer get up around 100 and usually dont get below the teens in the winter. Would running 10W-30 help with the infamous Zuki engine leaks and help improve oil pressure or is 5W-30 the best all around for a 4 cylinder? [img]images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-06-2002, 09:36 PM

Re: Engine oil question.....

I run 15w40 4x4 formula in mine. thicker viscosity slows oil leaks,and I also run mine hard anyways at times.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-06-2002, 10:08 PM

i run 10 40 in the summer and 10 30 in the winter that 5w 30 is like water. in the summer id go with 10w 30 . JMHO
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-06-2002, 11:28 PM
Enthusiast

I used to run 10w40, but I have changed to 10w30 (Amsoil of course). Found that I got a little better fuel economy with it (about .25mpg).

Jim
post #5 of (permalink) Old 10-06-2002, 11:35 PM

5W-30 is probably your best bet. 10W-30 and 5W-30 are close to the same viscosity (sp?) at operating temp, but 5W-30 is thinner when cold - which means it flows much quicker. Yes, it's like water, but it's supposed to be like water and there is a good reason for it - It flows quick cold, minimizing the time the critical moving parts are running dry.