Frankenstein XLT - other polaris'ers - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Snowmobile Lounge All general discussions relating to Snowmobiles

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-25-2000, 09:45 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Frankenstein XLT - other polaris\'ers

got a line a on a couple sleds....
'89 indy 500 classic. warmers, elec start , etc. excellent cosmetic condition. 10000 miles with rebuild 500 ago. needs track and prolly some bearing work. asking $1200 obo.

'93 xlt special. excellent cosmetic condition. elec start 5100 miles. $1700 obo. motor???

what are the differences in the sleds? is a $500 jump in price worth 4 years and 5000 miles for the newer one?
xlt has a triple correct? what size? i am a beginner have to admit that.

thanks,

tj
[img]/wwwthreads_images/icons/cool.gif[/img] "it was a '76, '77, '78, '79...'83 automobile!" (johnny cash)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-25-2000, 07:37 PM
nashoba66

Re: Frankenstein XLT - other polaris\'ers

tj,
both should be good sleds, i would say that the xlt is probably worth the extra $500 depending on a few things. has it been rebuilt?
if not it will probably run around $100 to do that, i just put a new ring in my 94 stx and it ran me about 30 bucks. The xlt is a great
riding sled and the electric start will be great b/c they are a can be a bugger to start. The indy 500 would be good as well except that
you are sacrificing some ride quality with the older suspension. also if it needs a track that I would figure no less than $400 to
replace that. The xlt is a 580 triple, it runs very smooth, I rode a friends and loved. I think that either would be good, the only thing
with the 500 is that 10,000 miles is a lot and you will have a lot of maintenance to do if things haven't be regularly replaced. check
thinks like idler wheels, skis, carbides, picks, etc. for signs of excessive abuse. If possible take for a test ride just to listen for